SARASOTA, Fla. (Friday, December 7) – The REALTOR® Association of Sarasota and Manatee (RASM) installed the 2019 officers and directors and recognized six award winners at the Installation and Awards Banquet on December 6, 2018. Incoming President Amy Worth, Broker Associate with RE/MAX Platinum Realty, announced her goal to focus on the professionalism, productivity and profitability of RASM’s 6,500 REALTOR® members.

During her speech, Worth thanked outgoing President Greg Owens and volunteers for their past and continued service to the Association. She declared 2019 as the year to “make it happen,” empowering members to take initiative and use their platform to serve homeowners.

“I want our members to understand just how powerful their voice is. REALTORS® are the first line of defense for private property rights and the greatest ally for homeowners,” said Worth. “We will continue to participate in local issues and elevate professionalism so that every REALTOR® can productively serve this community.”

Newly installed RASM Officers attend the 2018 Installation & Awards Banquet. From left to right: Georgina Clamage, Greg Owens, Amy Worth, David Clapp and Adam Chicoine

The newly installed officers for 2019 are President Amy Worth, RE/MAX Platinum Realty, President-Elect David Clapp, RE/MAX Alliance Group, Treasurer Adam Chicoine, RE/MAX Alliance Group, Secretary Georgina Clamage, Michael Saunders & Company and Immediate Past President Greg Owens, Keller Williams on the Water.

The board of directors serving in 2019 are Tony Barrett, Rico Boeras, Michael Bruno, Jody Carlson, Jaymie Carter, Michelle Crabtree, Lee Forbes, Bill Furst, Sharon Gould, Alex Krumm, Renee Marquiss, Maryellen Paterson, Roger Piro, Brian Tresidder, Tony Veldkamp, and Steve Zeris.

Six members were also recognized for their contributions and achievements in 2018. The following recipients were nominated and selected by their peers:

RASM Award Recipients pose with their awards at the 2018 Installation & Awards Banquet at The Westin Sarasota.

Peter Crowley, RE/MAX Alliance Group – 2018 REALTOR® of the Year

This year’s top honor goes to Peter Crowley, Broker and Co-Owner of RE/MAX Alliance Group. Peter was the 2014 Sarasota Association of REALTORS® President. He also led the merger task force responsible for forming RASM. Peter initiated the formation of the Suncoast Regional Young Professionals Network (YPN) and was involved with our local Association joining My Florida Regional MLS as stakeholders. He also served on the MFRMLS Board of Directors. Peter participated as a member of the selection committee that hired Jeff Arakelian, the current RASM CEO. He currently serves as Chairman of the Board of Goodwill Industries, Manasota. He received his bachelors and MBA from the University of Florida.

Roger Piro, RE/MAX Alliance Group – 2018 President’s Award

This year, 2018 President Greg Owens presented this award to Roger Piro, a Managing Broker of the RE/MAX Alliance Group Sarasota Office, and previously the Broker/Owner of Town and Country Real Estate, a position he held for eight years. Roger was the 2013 President of the Sarasota Association of REALTORS®, and he has been very involved in the industry at the local, state and national levels. Roger serves on the Board of Directors for both Florida REALTORS® and the National Association of REALTORS®. In addition, Roger’s impressive resumé includes serving as Chair of the RASM Political Action Advisory Committee and the RASM Professional Standards Committee. He’s also served on NAR’s Professional Standards Committee multiple times.

“Roger puts in countless volunteer hours to assist the Association and has been called on many times to use his knowledge,” said Greg Owens, 2018 RASM President. “From his work with heading up the Facilities Task Force, (his second time doing this), to the Political Action Advisory Committee, the list just goes on and keeps growing. It has been said ‘if you need something done, ask someone who is busy.’ Well, in this case, that someone is Roger Piro. We can’t thank him enough as an Association for the work he has done and continues to do.”

Michael Bruno, Michael Saunders & Company – 2018 Distinguished Service Award

This year’s deserving recipient is Michael Bruno. Mike is proud to be affiliated with Michael Saunders & Company and celebrated his 30th year as a Realtor® with the REALTOR® Association of Sarasota and Manatee! He currently serves as a Director for the National Association of REALTORS®, Florida REALTORS® and RASM, of which he has been a director in one or all three since 2006. He is also the 2018 Realtor® Party Coordinating Committee Chair for Florida REALTORS®. In 2014, Mike was not only the Realtor® of the Year for the Sarasota Association of Realtors®, he was the District Vice President and RPAC Chairman of the Year for Florida REALTORS®. Locally, Mike has chaired the RPAC, Professional Standards, Grievance, Finance, and Nominating Committees, (some multiple times) and proudly served as President in 2011. He is also a distinguished graduate of the 2010 Florida REALTORS® Leadership Academy. Mike is an avid supporter of RPAC as he realizes the importance of protecting private property rights and supporting Realtor® causes.

Robin Wentz, Keller Williams Realty Manatee – 2018 Humanitarian Award

This year’s award goes to Robin Wentz, with Keller Williams Realty of Manatee. Robin Wentz has been a residential Realtor® for 10 years with Keller Williams with a focus in Eastern and Northern Manatee County. She was a member of her Market Center’s Agent Leadership Council where she served as Culture Chair for several years, was the 2016 President of Women’s Council of REALTORS® Manatee County Network and has been a member and Chair of the Community Outreach Committee at RASM. Seeing a need in her community, Robin identified Manatee Children’s Services, a non-profit focused on providing care, services, and resources to the abused and neglected children of Manatee, Sarasota, and Desoto Counties, as an opportunity to get the Manatee Association of REALTORS® (MAR) involved in a project. The program was introduced to MAR in 2011 and in turn, RASM, and has fulfilled over 200+ children’s lists, which are often filled with needs rather than wants.

Jamie Black, Cross Country Mortgage – 2018 YPN Member of the Year

This year’s award goes to Jamie Black of Cross Country Mortgage. Jamie joined YPN late last year and immediately jumped in with both feet. Prior to her career in the mortgage industry 3 years ago, Jamie was a stay-at-home mom. During her time at home with her 2 children, she was very active in the elementary school PTO. She served on the PTO Board for 3 years, 2 of those years as president. Her PTO experience readied her to take the leap to chair and co-chair various YPN subcommittees. She helped plan many events with YPN, including the Polo Outing, co-chaired the Lip-Sync Battle, served on the Bowling Day committee, and helped organize the 1st Annual Boo-ery Tour.

Elizabeth Reynolds, IAS Marketing Services – 2018 Business Partner of the Year

Elizabeth has been a very involved member of the Association since 2014. She was a Founding Member of Suncoast Regional Young Professionals Network in 2014 and was RASM’s YPN Chair in 2017. She is currently the 2018 Suncoast Regional YPN Chair and will be the 2019 Business Partner Committee Chair. She has also volunteered every year with the annual RASM Spring Fling and Changing of the Seasons Gala. Elizabeth has been employed by IAS Marketing Services since she was a Freshman at Riverview High School. She has worked her way up from hand labeling and stamping postcards to the Chief Operations Officer in the last 16 years.