Licensing & Continuing Education
To put it simply, the REALTOR® Association of Sarasota and Manatee maintains your REALTOR® membership, offering education programs, products, and other resources to support you in this profession. The Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) maintains your license and the Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC) regulates your license.
Post-licensing or Continuing Education Requirements
According to FREC rule, after completing the 45 hours (for Sales Associates) or 60 hours (for Brokers) of post-license education, Sales Associates and Brokers must complete 14 hours of continuing education and pay a state renewal fee every two years. The 14 Hours are to consist of 3 Hours Florida Core Law, 3 Hours Real Estate Business Ethics, 8 Hours Specialty Credits.
License renewals are every 24 months on either March 31st or September 30th. License expiration dates vary depending on the initial licensure date and can be located on the bottom of your license.
If you have questions, please visit myfloridalicense.com or call the DBPR’s customer contact center at 850.487.1395 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Eastern time, Monday through Friday.
To maintain your real estate license, all licensees must comply with post-licensing or continuing education requirements and pay the necessary renewal fees. This also applies to licensees with a suspended license. In support of the statutory requirements for your profession, the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) has implemented a 100% Post and Continuing Education Monitoring database. All course providers are required to report your education completion to the department within 30 days of completion, or prior to the expiration date, whichever occurs first.
Follow these instructions to view your continuing education requirements and courses completed at www.MyFloridaLicense.com, after you log in, select My Continuing Education.
It is very important that you keep all your continuing education letters to validate your coursework. These letters will tell you the course names and how many credits you received. If the credits did not get transmitted successfully to DBPR then you will be able to use the letters to correct the problem. If your required education is not complete and/or reported, you will NOT be able to renew your license.
Continuing Education Deficiency Letter
You will receive a Continuing Education Deficiency letter if DBPR records show you have not completed all of the required hours for the most recent renewal period. If you have completed all of your required hours and the department’s system does not reflect this, please mail your CED letter with copies of your course completion certificates and your license number to:
Bureau of Education and Testing Continuing Education
1940 North Monroe Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1046
DBPR Customer Contact Center: (850) 487-1395
Monday – Friday | 8 a.m. – 6 p.m.
Saturday | 10 a.m. – 2 p.m.